Structure & Governance

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the supreme organ of the organization and is constituted by a meeting of the delegates nominated by the Member Bodies, duly convened in accordance with the Rules of Procedure. As a general rule, the General Assembly meets at least once every year.

The Council

The Council consisting of the President and representatives of twelve Member Bodies administers in accordance with the policy laid down by the organization the activities of the Organisation reports on the activities of the Organization to the Member Bodies each year and to the General Assembly at each of its sessions. The President presides over the General Assembly and over the Council and submits to the General Assembly the proposals made and the decisions taken by the Council. The Vice President and the Treasurer are elected by the Council from its own members.


ARSO Council Composition Officials

ARSO Official PositionName
PresidentProf. Alexander Nii Oto Dodoo, Ghana
Vice-PresidentBotsile Kebapetse, Botswana
TreasurerMr. Issaka Zoungrana, Burkina Faso
Secretary GeneralDr. Hermogène Nsengimana

ARSO Council Members (2022 – 2025)

Botswana (Vice President), Burkina Faso (Treasurer), Cameroon, DR Congo, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya (the Host) and the Secretary General, Dr. Hermogene Nsengimana

ARSO Central Secretariat

The Central Secretariat comprises the Secretary General, currently Dr. Hermogène Nsengimana , ARSO staff and members of NSBs on Sabbatical Programme. The Central Secretariat is located at the seat/Headquarters of the Organization, in Nairobi Kenya. The ARSO Central Secretariat, which is the permanent Headquarters office responsible for handling the tasks assigned by the ARSO Council and General Assembly, is charged with the responsibility of executing daily operations, coordination and promotion of all ARSO Programmes and activities. The Central Secretariat liaises and communicates with all the ARSO Stakeholders which includes Members States, Regional Economic Communities, The African Union, International Standards Bodies and Partners, Donors, Government Ministries, among the rest.

ARSO Council Composition (Previous)

YearPrevious ARSO OfficialName
2019 – 2022PresidentMr BOOTO à NGON Charles, Cameroon
2019 – 2020Vice PresidentMasego Marobela, Botswana
2016 – 2019PresidentDr. Eve Gadzikwa, Zimbabwe
2016 – 2019Vice PresidentMrs. Amel Ben Farhat, Tunisia
2016 – 2017Vice PresidentMr. Nébil BEN BECHIR, Tunisia
2012 – 2016PresidentDr. Joseph Ikemefuna Odumodu, Nigeria
2012 – 2016Vice PresidentMonsieur BOOTO à NGON Charles, Cameroon
2012 – 2016TreasurerMr. Katima Temba, South Africa
2009 – 2012PresidentDr. (Eng) Kioko Mang’eli, Kenya
2004 – 2007PresidentMr. Mesai Girma, Ethiopia
2006Vice-PresidentMadame Loise MAYUMA KASENDE, Democratic Republic of Congo
2004Vice-PresidentMr. Adrien Venant Domai Makuth, Democratic Republic of Congo
2005Vice-PresidentMr. Kanama Viki Mbuya, Democratic Republic of Congo
2006 – 2008TreasurerDr. Adu Darkwa, Ghana
2003 – 2004TreasurerMr. Nimo Ahinkorah, Ghana
2005TreasurerMr. Lawrence Yankey, Ghana
2014 – 2015TreasurerDr. Sadhvir Bissoon, South Africa
2002 – 2008Secretary GeneralMr. Damian Udenna Agbanelo
2009 – 2012Secretary GeneralMr. Andrew Maiyo